Getting CB's to move

General Modding Chat Here

Moderators: Q-dad~TAG, EXP STAFF, Moderator

Getting CB's to move

Postby Fred » 07-24-2005 04:35 PM

Here's my question. Though I can get the 01_object to move - the CB01 of that object just sits there. Am I missing something ? Shouldn't the collision move with the object ?

If this isn't making making sense, imagine at a giant clock hand (like the second hand) pivoting around a certain point (the center of your watch). The second hand will move - but the collision stays put.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby Fred » 07-24-2005 07:29 PM

I've done a search on this - and tried making the spinning part the 02 object - but this did no good. Anybody ?
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby Fred » 07-25-2005 09:49 AM

Ok, here is the .3da and .ase something similar to what I"m trying to do. Everything named the way I'm trying to set it up.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby 7thDagger » 07-25-2005 11:18 AM

First off, which game is this for? If its for BHD, here is a simple tut. made by DR.EVil: windmill. If its for JO/DFX, I dont think it is possible to create part animations, yet!
Image
<a>Image</a>
User avatar
7thDagger
EXP STAFF MEMBER
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 03-11-2005 04:20 PM

Postby Fred » 07-25-2005 03:50 PM

It is for BHD. I've made quite a few items before, some of them moving, but I read the tut anyway - I understand how to do it - I'm just wondering if I'm overlooking something as simple as a naming convention.

I see a couple of things differently than I usually do (ie: I use points for attach - he used boxes) - so I guess I'll try them and see what that does.

Thank you.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby Fred » 07-25-2005 04:49 PM

This is really bugging me. Everything the way the tut says, and still the collision is not moving. Here is the updated scene from max, the ase and 3da.

I sure would appreciate one the vets giving me a hint about what the problem is.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby DR.EVIL~TAG » 07-25-2005 07:26 PM

I just downloaded , I'll play with it for a bit. The windmill is set up different as the CB box on it covers the full diameter of the props it self. So no matter where the prop is you can't pass through it. But seems alright as its a building that is high and not ment to be on top of. But this is different this is low to the ground, so you wouldn;t be able to use a big CB box as in the windmill.
For your gaming textures and downloads. Now hosting over 5000 game textures and more uploaded every night. Click the sig.
Image
DR.EVIL~TAG
Mod Depot Staff
 
Posts: 427
Joined: 03-31-2004 03:31 PM

Postby Brokenmachine » 07-25-2005 09:04 PM

This is just a wild shot, but in your items.def file, do you have your item attributes to "movecb"?. I know that is a must for vehicles, it might have something to do with your sub parts too.
.
User avatar
Brokenmachine
EXP STAFF MEMBER
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 04-30-2004 04:53 AM

Postby Fred » 07-25-2005 09:12 PM

Thanks Dr. Evil - this has had me stumped for two days.

BTW, This is a 'mock up' of an idea - but I need this vital part to work - otherwise it is a no go.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby Fred » 07-25-2005 09:13 PM

Brokenmachine wrote:This is just a wild shot, but in your items.def file, do you have your item attributes to "movecb"?. I know that is a must for vehicles, it might have something to do with your sub parts too.


Hmmm... I'm off to try that now. Thanks.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Finally

Postby Fred » 07-25-2005 09:43 PM

OK... you put me on the right track. Thanks. Was thinking this was a modeling problem - instead it appears to be a def problem. Here is what I found.

If you add:

ai_function cveh
move_function cveh
render_function cveh
ai_function cveh

- this will move the CB - and will push you out of the way. You can walk on it, but cannot 'ride' it as it spins though - if you stop, it keeps going and you fall off. It would be useful if it could be done.

If you add:

movecb

- the player is lifted up and over the object as it passes you. Without it - you have to jump up on it or get pushed out of the way.

The big part is done I guess - awesome. Thank you.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby DR.EVIL~TAG » 07-26-2005 06:48 AM

I'm at work at the moment, But another way that i just thought of that may work is to use the door cb, As when a door opens the cb moves with the door as well, THis may work and would probably would not need to add anything to the pff .
For your gaming textures and downloads. Now hosting over 5000 game textures and more uploaded every night. Click the sig.
Image
DR.EVIL~TAG
Mod Depot Staff
 
Posts: 427
Joined: 03-31-2004 03:31 PM

Postby Fred » 07-26-2005 07:49 PM

DR.EVIL~TAG wrote:I'm at work at the moment, But another way that i just thought of that may work is to use the door cb, As when a door opens the cb moves with the door as well, THis may work and would probably would not need to add anything to the pff .


I considered this too - but I thought this would make the object dependant upon a player being within the vicinity of it... This would be great for a see-saw effect.

I think that a rail is going to be the only way to keep a player on something like this ( while it is moving ). Interesting... the engine gives the player 'gravity' ( hence the effect of falling/dropping to the terrain ) - but he must have no weight, or he would 'stick' to what he stands on when it moves. I guess that is why the game requires attach points.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby PyscoFalc » 07-27-2005 07:04 AM

you can just make the object a sub object and give it a center point and a hing then make the CB02 then the CB moves with the object
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby Fred » 07-27-2005 07:36 PM

This object/subobject - I don't understand how you set this up. When I import into the OED, it seems to do that automatically. Additionally, it didn't really matter HOW I labeled the parts - the CB's would not move with the part until I added the script to the items.def.
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Next

Return to General Mod Chat Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron