Converting C4 Terrains as practice..

Discuss Terrain Making Here

Moderators: Q-dad~TAG, EXP STAFF, Moderator

Converting C4 Terrains as practice..

Postby Eagle Eye » 11-08-2006 05:03 AM

OK, I've never done any work with terrains at all...

I have been using Sonic's Tut to do a little playing..

I am using a C4 terrain, and, after building the .cpt file, all was good, except the terrain was really light, and not at all like the colour map..

So, after reading a bit more, I loaded the _c.tga into photoshop, created an alpha channel, and saved it as a 32bit tga..

The colours are now correct, and match the tga.. :)

My question now is, to get the terrain to join up correctly as it tiles..

I assume this is done in the trn file..

Somewhere in here..

polytrn_sectorcount 8 ; width of sectors
polytrn_wrapx 0 ; do we wrap on X? 0=no dont lock it. 1=yes lock it
polytrn_wrapy 0 ; do we wrap on Y?

polytrn_origin -4 -4 ; move terrain origin by this amount (X,Y)

polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3 ; width here must match above
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4


lock_topleft 0 0 ;these values must match those in the corresponding tpj
lock_topright 0 0 ;0=no dont lock it 1=yes lock it
lock_bottomleft 0 0
lock_bottomright 0 0

Here's the original in C4..


Image

and here's how it looks in BHD..

Image

Could someone help me tile this, or understand what number is what..

Ta
EE
Image
User avatar
Eagle Eye
Moderator
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 02-11-2004 08:40 PM

Postby BuLL » 11-08-2006 06:52 AM

Looks as though the original trn sectors are arranged in a repeating. 1 3
2 4
formation.....Try altering your bhd trn settings to these..I think that`s the problem.I`m sure LoA will correct me if not.;)

polytrn_sectorcount 8 ; width of sectors
polytrn_wrapx 1 ; do we wrap on X?
polytrn_wrapy 1 ; do we wrap on Y?

polytrn_origin -4 -4 ; move terrain origin by this amount (X,Y)

polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 3 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 3 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 3 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 3 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4




lock_topleft 0 0
lock_topright 0 0
lock_bottomleft 0 0
lock_bottomright 0 0
Image

I`m only overweight because of a "feet disorder"...I can`t keep them out of the f*cking Pantry.
BuLL
Professional "Pie-Eater"
 
Posts: 226
Joined: 07-29-2005 11:27 AM
Location: GB

Postby R8Bob » 11-08-2006 01:24 PM

! yes in jotr
polytrn_sectorcount is size of the grid "should only be power 2" dont recommend going above 16

polytrn_sectors is a grid for the tiles

polytrn_wrapx & polytrn_wrapy are what tiles the grid

bhd maybe little nova terrain generator has a pdf document and i think example trn file for landwarrior , but think only defrence between the trn's is detailblend maps !
Custom JO Terrains
Anim8or ,Cinema 4D XL, Photo impact 6 ,bryce 5
R8Bob
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 06-10-2006 03:47 AM

Postby Eagle Eye » 11-08-2006 10:40 PM

OK, I have it running correctly now, read the bit in the pdf manual as well..

Here's a little breakdown, I still don't quiet understand it yet, but I will..LOL..

original C4

polytrn_sectorcount 4 ; width of sectors
polytrn_wrapx 1 ; do we wrap on X?
polytrn_wrapy 1 ; do we wrap on Y?

polytrn_origin 0 0 ; move terrain origin by this amount (X,Y)

polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 3 ; width here must match above
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4

Sample in Tools

polytrn_sectorcount 8 ; width of sectors
polytrn_wrapx 0 ; do we wrap on X? 0=no dont lock it. 1=yes lock it
polytrn_wrapy 0 ; do we wrap on Y?

polytrn_origin -4 -4 ; move terrain origin by this amount (X,Y)

polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3 ; width here must match above
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4
polytrn_sectors 1 3 1 2 1 3 1 3
polytrn_sectors 2 4 2 4 2 4 2 4

I just cut the above out of the sample, and replaced it with the C4 one..

Synopsis...

If you tile 4, the you only need 4 polytrn_sectors lines.
Each of those lines must have 4 numbers..

If you tile 8, the you only need 8 polytrn_sectors lines.
Each of those lines must have 8 numbers..

0 = ocean
1 = sector 1
2 = sector 2
3 = sector 3
4 = sector 4

See more below..

Then, how to transfer this to DFX, or JO..

Thanks for the help so far guys.. :)

EE

ps..it looks great in game..
Image
User avatar
Eagle Eye
Moderator
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 02-11-2004 08:40 PM

Postby Eagle Eye » 11-09-2006 12:12 AM

OK, I have this sussed..

The 1,2 ,3 and 4 are the 4 sectors of the terrain. looking at your terrain, set out like this..

1/3
2/4

You will see this in a picture in the Terrain Generator Overview.pdf

Lets say your 4 sectors are all islands..

If you choose to tile out a 4 x 4 with ocean all around, you would use...

polytrn_sectors 0 0 0 0
polytrn_sectors 0 1 3 0
polytrn_sectors 0 2 4 0
polytrn_sectors 0 0 0 0

If you decided not to use sector 4 at all, and have 3 islands, you might use..

polytrn_sectors 0 0 0 0
polytrn_sectors 0 1 3 0
polytrn_sectors 0 2 0 0
polytrn_sectors 0 0 0 0

EE
Image
User avatar
Eagle Eye
Moderator
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 02-11-2004 08:40 PM

Postby Eagle Eye » 11-11-2006 11:27 PM

Well, got this into Jo with minimal fuss, but, what gave me the biggest trouble was the Foliage Map.


I used the same colours as the original JO ones, without any luck..

I copied and renamed an Original one, and it would work..

So I made another, used the eyedropper to pick the colours off an original...no luck, so, any way, after much checking, make sure the color table your using is from one of the original _f.pcx files..

Image

Image

Image

Image

EE
Image
User avatar
Eagle Eye
Moderator
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 02-11-2004 08:40 PM

Postby BuLL » 11-12-2006 12:16 AM

Looks really good m8;)
Image

I`m only overweight because of a "feet disorder"...I can`t keep them out of the f*cking Pantry.
BuLL
Professional "Pie-Eater"
 
Posts: 226
Joined: 07-29-2005 11:27 AM
Location: GB

Postby Eagle Eye » 11-12-2006 05:11 AM

Looks great in DFX as well, just figured how to transfer it :)

Here's a little video..

http://www.deltaforcegaming.com/temp/EE_C4.wmv

EE
Image
User avatar
Eagle Eye
Moderator
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 02-11-2004 08:40 PM

Postby R8Bob » 11-12-2006 05:19 AM

good terrain looks perfect for tank battles

problem with the pcx is its not the color but the index number of the color used

notice at bottem of you trn file referal to
match 254 and match 253 these two index numbers are the colors used in the pcx pallet

index 255 = no grass

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/w.watson3/bhd.pal
cant remember how view the index pallet in photoshop ! but this index color file matches all pcx index pallets used in joint operations

problem with photoshop it doesnt show index numbers ,but photoimpact does :)
edit
cool didnt notice that video post ,how do record in game footage !
Custom JO Terrains
Anim8or ,Cinema 4D XL, Photo impact 6 ,bryce 5
R8Bob
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 06-10-2006 03:47 AM

Postby Eagle Eye » 11-12-2006 06:20 AM

Video done with "Fraps", edited and resaved with "Virtual Dub", then converted with "Windows Media Encoder 9"

I managed to create my own _f.pcx no probs, I just saved the color table from an original, then loaded it back into the new one before I did the colors..

Some DFX Stills...Click Here

Some BHD Stills Click Here

EE
Image
User avatar
Eagle Eye
Moderator
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 02-11-2004 08:40 PM


Return to Terrains

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron