Cant strip JO's cpt files

Discuss Terrain Making Here

Moderators: Q-dad~TAG, EXP STAFF, Moderator

Cant strip JO's cpt files

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-11-2006 11:45 AM

I tried using Devil's Claws cdep stripper so I can look at the heightmaps of JO's Terrains but nothing happens after I choose a cpt file. Could this be because I am running WinXP Pro x64. I know I have all the versions of .net on it I think. Can anyone help..
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby loa » 04-11-2006 12:47 PM

no clue but i think i have most of them in greyscale.if you want them give me a hollar
User avatar
loa
Administrator
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 03-06-2004 01:54 PM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-11-2006 02:06 PM

can you possibly send the Twin Island Terrain Heightmap file to powelr01@yahoo.com. Thanks.
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby loa » 04-11-2006 03:12 PM

could you tell me the terrain name or show a ss of it
User avatar
loa
Administrator
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 03-06-2004 01:54 PM

Postby PyscoFalc » 04-11-2006 03:16 PM

its one of the

dvxi4

terrains
i think its the 1st 1
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-11-2006 03:31 PM

Never mind I got it to output. I had to get the tool from dfbarracks.com. The one on devilclaw's site doesnt work.
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-11-2006 03:56 PM

Is it me or why doesnt this greyscale look like a heightmap? I am trying to use it in a couple of things for testing purposes but ends up all wacky. So I guess there is no "TRUE" heightmaps from JO? I even converted to 16bit which is better actually but still the same. Anyone have a "True" heightmap of this one?
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby loa » 04-11-2006 05:12 PM

lol let me know the trn name,not the map name i have them in greyscale
User avatar
loa
Administrator
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 03-06-2004 01:54 PM

Postby PyscoFalc » 04-11-2006 05:13 PM

Someone on dfb I can't remember told me you need to turn the alpha channel off or something like that
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-12-2006 06:41 AM

loa,
Its dvxi4.

I used the stripper that I got from dfbarracks and it works. But the whenever I open it I can see the island outline just fine but it doesnt look like a "true" heightmap that is normally made using PS or some other landscaping generator. Send me a copy of it to above email and let me see if its the same. If so then you cant use it in other programs because they see it totally differently. I want to test it out in the L3DT program that I found to be the best for making everything from Heightmaps to Colormaps to Detail Maps. Even make Lightmaps if you use them. Anyway here is the website for you fellas: http://www.bundysoft.com/L3DT/

The Retail is coming in July for $25 and I have been using this program for a few weeks now and love it.
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-12-2006 06:43 AM

SpongeBobMGS wrote:Someone on dfb I can't remember told me you need to turn the alpha channel off or something like that


Hmmm is that why I see tons of rectangles that makes up the terrain? I can see the island outline fine but it just doesnt look like a "True" heightmap..Look weird. I will post a screenshot tonight for you..
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby loa » 04-12-2006 07:26 AM

here you go a greyscale of dvxi4

dvxi4
User avatar
loa
Administrator
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 03-06-2004 01:54 PM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-12-2006 07:34 AM

Wow Thanks Loa thats it a true heightmap..Guess I didnt disable the alpha channel. Again Thanks and whenever I get home I will check out the alpha channel..
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Postby loa » 04-12-2006 07:37 AM

LOL what alpha chanel? jo cpts do not use a alpha chanel...
User avatar
loa
Administrator
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 03-06-2004 01:54 PM

Postby LC.Prophet-SOD- » 04-12-2006 07:50 AM

then how did you get the heightmap file. I used the stripper and it comes up with some weird looking file. Its actually been doing this on all my computers so I know its not my OS. I see tons of Square/Rectangles that makes up the island. Really weird. So there isnt no other program or step besides the stripper? Whenever I open it in photoshop I choose count 2 8bits? This this correct? I know what heightmaps are and how they work. I do make my own and been doing it for a few years now but this one had gotten me a headache..
LC.Prophet-SOD-
Senior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 12-26-2004 10:55 AM

Next

Return to Terrains

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron