Problem getting new item in the game

Moderators: Q-dad~TAG, EXP STAFF, Moderator

Problem getting new item in the game

Postby TXD-Sniper » 06-07-2006 08:27 AM

ok...im new at this, so here is what i have done, and the problem i am having....I hope someone can help.

OK, I am making my forst attempt at modifying an existing BHD-TS object and adding it to my pff as a new item.

I took the drug cocaine crate and reskinned it using these steps.

I opened the COCRO1.3di and the COCRO1X.3di with the Hex Editor and did a search for all the .tga and .dds files that it uses in the object. I then found these files and opened them in photoshop. Drug_Crate.dds and coke.dds

I edited them the way i wanted them...changing colors and textures...... I then saved them as Drug_CrateM.dds and cokeM.dds

I used the find and replace options in the two 3di files and added the M at the end of the file name referenced in the 3di files.....
Example... Drug_Crate.dds changed to Drug_CrateM.dds and coke.dds changed to cokeM.dds

I also noticed in the hex editor that the very top line had the name of the 3di file listed without the extension...... it said COCRO1 and COCRO1X I added the M to both files and then saved both edited 3di files as COCRO1M.3di and COCRO1XM.3di

I them took the entries of the original crate in the Items def file and copied it and pasted it into the items def at the bottom. and added the Mo the referred 3di files and added Mod to the beginning of the descripton of the object....and gave it a new iem number....i did a search for the item number to make sure it didnt allready exist.

I added the updated items def and all the files that i edited to my pff file......i went into the mission editor and when to add the new crate to a map.....the crate was listed in the decorations under neath the old one.....but when i go to add it to the map.....all i get it a little box that say loading COCRO1M, htne the med crashes..........

Is there a specific procedure to editing the 3di file? that is the only thing i can figure out that is going wrong.........just to verify that i didnt do anything wrong when i edited the dds files..i did test....i edited the dds files and kept all the file names which made the new crate overwrit e the existing crate...i went into the map and it worked.....

So i must be doing something wrong in the Items def or when i am editing the 3di file.......

What it the actual procedure of editing the 3di file with a hex editor?

Here is a link if you want to download the files that i am workingg with. This zip files contains all the oroginal files and the edited
files. The edited ones all end with an M.

http://www.teamtxd.com/mods/TXD2/New_Objects/Drug_CrateM.zip


Any help would be appreciated..


TXD-Sniper
sniper@teamtxd.com
Image
TXD-Sniper
EXP STAFF MEMBER
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11-03-2005 10:53 AM

Postby DAN329 » 06-07-2006 10:51 AM

where is this "M" coming from???

all you need to do to skin something is extract the DDS files, edit them, and save em to ur game directory (and then optional: pack them into pff)
Can't wait to see Angel Falls. Everyone sign up for their stupid Gold membership lol
User avatar
DAN329
MODDING FUCKING OWNS!!!
 
Posts: 213
Joined: 07-28-2005 09:57 AM
Location: Nashua NH

Postby TXD-Sniper » 06-07-2006 11:36 AM

right...if i just want to over write the existing item....but i want to modify the existing one and out it in as a new item......reason is....i was told by another modder....that if i change a dss file like add textures to it or change the look and dont make a new item out of it.....if another 3di file in the med require that dds file then the other item wiill be modified as well causing an issue.....

here is an example....i would llke to make two modified versions of the armory ver 1.......i want to make a camo one and a snow one......those two whould require there own files and 3di file......as well as their own entry into the items def.....this is the problem im having.....i can modify the dds files just fine....but i cant seem to modify the 3di files correctly......lol
Image
TXD-Sniper
EXP STAFF MEMBER
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11-03-2005 10:53 AM

Postby smoke10 » 06-07-2006 03:07 PM

hes tryin yo do the same thing terranova did w/ the terranova mod w/ like 4 differ hummers,reskinned walls, 4 different skinned hummers and stuff like that....ineer tried so i hope u get it
<img>
<a><img></a>
smoke10
Moderator
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 02-20-2005 06:56 PM

Postby TXD-Sniper » 06-07-2006 03:31 PM

thats exactly what i am trying to do...mostly cause i dont know how to do an object from scratch,,,and im doing this alone...i dont have a modteam or anyone with experience in my squad.
Image
TXD-Sniper
EXP STAFF MEMBER
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11-03-2005 10:53 AM

Hey

Postby Brodie » 06-07-2006 07:17 PM

I had to say this... Cool sig :p


As for doing that... maybe take a look at the Terranova mod?

Using another set of Items.def and stuff for reference works really good. Just see exactly what they changed in order to make theres work.

Thats what im thinking as of now, and Did you change the name in the Items def? and the Item number? it cant have the same ID number or Name.

Hope that helps.
Brodie, The One... The Only.
-----------------------------------

Image
User avatar
Brodie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 04-01-2005 01:09 PM

Postby Fred » 06-07-2006 07:45 PM

If I remember correctly, the 3di files contain such info as the length of the file. When you change the name of the 3di (inside the 3di file) - it needs to be the same length of letters. If you change the name of the dds file - it also needs to be the same length. Also, when you put the items in the items.def file, don't forget to change the graphic name.

I just did this to test it.. (it was with C4, but pretty much the same) .. but that works.

Hope that helps.

This pic is just a paper bag mat on the new dds - ( renamed to test )- and on an altered but same 3di ( renamed to test ). It does work..

Image
Tons of Software
No Talent
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM

Postby TXD-Sniper » 06-07-2006 10:18 PM

i finally got somewhere tonight on my first object. In the past i was uning the find and replace function in the hex editor to change the names in the 3di file.....this time i used a different hex editor "Hexplorer" and manually scrooled and replace the names in the 3di file and it worked.


On my next item which was a reskinned armory 1......i did the same thing....but instead of adding an M at the end of every file name....I tried adding TXD2 at the beginning...it didnt work.........so i went back in to that 3di file and changed the name back the way it was and just added the M at the end of the file. and it worked.

Appearently i was doing two things wrong it seems....i was editing the 3di incorrectly with the hex editor and i was using an in correct naming convention for the files and the 3di.

I have tried to find anything that explains the naming conventions for the files and the 3di files, but no luck....if anyone knows what the rules are for naming the 3di files and the dds files....that would be awesome. ...

I appreciate everyones help......i have gotten alot accomplished with your help.......


Also.....if anyone has any objects that they would like to offer up for the mod......I would appreciate them and will any items used in the mod i willmake sure that the person who gave the object gets a mention in the mod.......
Image
TXD-Sniper
EXP STAFF MEMBER
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11-03-2005 10:53 AM

Postby Fred » 06-08-2006 06:04 AM

Hmm. I guess I was wrong. But it still sounds like you are stepping on some necessary null values.
Tons of Software
No Talent
Fred
MOD Scientist
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 06-29-2004 05:41 AM


Return to Discuss Skinning Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron