Adding SIT and CONTROL points to a model

Discuss Vehicle Modding Here

Moderators: Q-dad~TAG, EXP STAFF, Moderator

Adding SIT and CONTROL points to a model

Postby Marine » 08-20-2006 07:21 AM

Hey,

Im trying the impossible, adding planes to JO.

I am trying to use a model of an F16 (From the BHD terranova mod), and have converted it from a 3di to ase in Milkshape (With the 3di converter).

i currently dont know how to add sit points/control points to it, but i assume its using some kind of material.

Also, the OED crashes when i try to convert it :S


=P

Thanks

Tom
([JA]10|P3.SAS)
PS. If you still have the actual models for that plane, please send, it will help a great deal with the IC mod :)
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM

Postby PyscoFalc » 08-22-2006 08:44 AM

Planes are not impossible for JOE but they can't be fully function-able

what u have to do is open up a .3di file in a hex editor and look for the line

ctrl XX

XX=any 2 numbers

there are a lot of control animations try and get one form a Helli that would be the most accurate

for sit points

its pretty much the same

SitXX
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby Marine » 08-22-2006 12:48 PM

Do you know how we would put control/sit points into an already decompiled BHD model?


Tom
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM

Postby PyscoFalc » 08-23-2006 04:23 AM

well all i can think of is opening it in Milkshape it can open .3di files

look at this topic

http://mods.terranova-exp.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1741

then add the control point in port it over to max and try and get it in game
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby Marine » 08-23-2006 08:59 AM

okiedoke - just read the OED manual - DOH - and found out all the textures need to be in tga... not dds... =P

And also found out how to add attach points via 3D Studio Max - Thats next on my trial list -- anyone know if the makers of it offer a free student edition?

Tom
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM

Postby PyscoFalc » 08-23-2006 10:23 AM

well they offer a student edition But I don't know if its free best to ask Turtle he has a student copy
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby Marine » 08-23-2006 10:38 AM

Copy that, i will probably only need to change this model, so thats ok.

I also think i know why my OED keeps crashing. The ASC files exported from ms3d dont work, but the supplied 3dsmax ase files do, so i assume the ms3d exporter is damaged / nonworking in some way.

Going to try opening it in 3dsmax, and adding the attach points then going to have some fun playing with settings ;)


Tom
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM

Postby PyscoFalc » 08-23-2006 05:26 PM

Open your model in Milkshape

then port it over to 3d max its better in 3d max you can rotate sit points in max but not in milkshape
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby Marine » 08-23-2006 05:37 PM

Lol... if i knew how to add sit points to models in ms3d i would (Because i do NOT want to buy Max and I DONT PIRATE software =)... Any tips / ms3d models?

Ta - Im a noob really :P -- done some modelling for swat 3 but thats it

Tom
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM

Postby Marine » 08-23-2006 06:11 PM

My bad, REALLY should have searched... oh well :)

Found the info in an old thread:

JO naming conventions:

Vehicle control = UPG01 CTRLX"xx" ("xx" is any number)

Sit point = UPG01 Sitex"xx"
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM

Postby PyscoFalc » 08-24-2006 04:39 AM

oops i knew there was a x somewhere

sorry
User avatar
PyscoFalc
NO i'm not a chav
 
Posts: 754
Joined: 04-03-2005 04:24 AM

Postby Marine » 08-24-2006 05:55 AM

No problem, i wasnt trying to correct you, i just copied and pasted that from the topic i was reading it from. I have got the control point to work! But i have to play with the model because at the moment its too small...

Tom
Marine
FWM Mod Team Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 08-10-2006 11:46 AM


Return to Vehicles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron